Before my ALX-SE Journey

Before my ALX-SE Journey

I happen to be enrolled on the ALX Software Engineering 12-month course, which I've been told is intensive and not for the faint-hearted. So, out of a little fear, I went in search of some kind of heads-up about what I've gotten myself into, and then I came across someone who started his ALX-SE journey in June and has been documenting his journey so far, George Nduka, please check him out. I was inspired by his articles on his ALX journey. Among other things, I felt the act of documenting gave him a way of remaining committed and intentional about the program, and that's something I believe anyone would need to survive ALX. So, immediately, I decided to follow his path to document my journey. The only thing is that my journey begins in November. But, that's not a problem, right? Let's just say I've started the journey in my mind.

ALX is not for jokers, so I've been made to understand, and sincerely I don't know how much I would have to give to make it through but thanks to George I know a few things that would make the journey smoother and easy to go along with, and I'm going to share those things with you. Alright, here they are.

  1. Make personal research on every topic as ALX strives to teach that Software Engineers need to be research-oriented.
  2. Collaboration with like minds on the program is a sure way of getting out of trouble. Find friends you could work with who are serious-minded and have similar goals as you.
  3. Set a goal on how you intend to finish your projects, tasks or assignments before the deadline and soon that would become your strategy for success.

So, these are some tips I got from George Nduka, and I must confess, I'm not good at any of these. But now I know what I need and what is required and it's in my good to get out of my comfort zone and Do Hard Things like Mr Fred Swaniker says.

The other reality is that I am still a student, at a Nigerian University, though for now, I'm not in session, soon I'll be. What happens when I resume? How will I cope with lectures, assignments, tests, practicals, etc.? Hmm! I'm sure you get the picture. I just hope I can pull up enough resolve from wherever I have it to get going when it gets tough just like the saying, when it gets tough, the tough get going. And, I hope you too will be able to tap your inner potential to get you through when the road gets rough as we begin the ALX-SE journey on the 14th of November, 2022.

I also hope you too would see a need to document your journey and share your growth process not necessarily in the way I'm doing mine but in your unique way. And for all those on the November enrollment list, I wish us a smooth ride of ease, speed, perfection and grace.